You Are Here: Home » Premier League » Aston Villa FC

Aston Villa FC

Aston Villa Football Club – Some History

Ground: Villa Park
Capacity: 42,785
Manager: Alex McLeish

Aston Villa was founded back in 1874 thanks to four men Jack Hughes, Frederick Matthews, Walter Price and William Scattergood all from Villa Cross Chapel cricket team. The result of the meeting was the creation of Aston Villa FC. They were also one of the founders of the football league back in 1888.

Aston Villa’s first match against Aston Brook St Mary’s Rugby team was quite strange affair as it was only agreed to be played if half was played under the rules of rugby and the other half under football rules.

It was not too long (just 3 years to be precise) until Aston Villa won the FA Cup with a 2-0 win against rivals West Bromwich Albion. Fast forward a few years to 1895 and Aston Villa win the league title and another FA Cup but a year later the trophy was stolen from a shop window. In 1896 Aston Villa again won the league title. 1897 was a landmark period for the club as they moved from the Perry Bar stadium to Aston Lower Grounds (it was the club’s supporters that coined the name ‘Villa Park’). During this season Aston Villa secured the double by winning both the title and the FA Cup.

Aston Villa (The Villa, The Villans or the Lions) continued to win league titles and FA Cups to become one of the oldest and most successful clubs in the league. More recently Villa have had some more turbulent times both on and off the pitch but their greatest achievement came in 1982 when they won the European Cup final beating a very strong Bayern Munich team.

Over the years Aston Villa has won many trophies, a summary of which is detailed below.

Football League Champions seven times 1893-94, 1895-96, 1896-97, 1898-99, 1899-1900, 1909-10, 1980-81

FA Cup Winners seven times 1887, 1895, 1897, 1905, 1913, 1920, 1957

League Cup five times 1961, 1975, 1977, 1994, 1996

Charity Shield in 1981

European Cup in 1982

European Super Cup in 1982-83

Intertoto Cup 1982-83

Disclaimer: Victor Chandler, trading as BetVictor, is licensed by the Government of Gibraltar.

Scroll to top