You Are Here: Home » Premier League » Blackburn Rovers FC

Blackburn Rovers FC

Blackburn Rovers Football Club – Some History

Ground: Ewood Park
Capacity: 31,154
Manager: Steve Kean

Blackburn Rovers was established back in 1875 and was one of the founding members of the Football League in 1888. In fact they are one of only three teams (Aston Villa and Everton being the others) that was both founding members of the Football League and the Premier League. The club was founded after a meeting in the Leger Hotel in Blackburn on 5 November 1875.

In December of that year Blackburn played their very first match in Church, Lancashire where the outcome was a 1-1 draw.

In 1890 Blackburn Rovers battled their way through to an FA Cup final where on 29 March they won the FA Cup for the fourth time with the match against Sheffield Wednesday played at the Kennington Oval. This was a first in the history of the FA Cup as William Townley scored a hat-trick, something never achieved on an FA Cup final before.

In 1890 Blackburn Rovers moved to what has become their permanent home Ewood Park, where they remain to this day. Their success over the years has been fairly low and when they were relegated from the top flight back in 1966 they spent some 26 seasons outside of the top divisions.

Fast forward to 1992 and it was all change at Blackburn Rovers. Having been promoted to the new Premier League a year after a new owner, Jack Walker took over and installed Kenny Dalglish as manager. In 1995 the board allowed millions of pounds to be spent on bringing in big names like Alan Shearer and Chris Sutton. Their investment was paid back with a title win 1995 however the team split up not long after resulting in relegation from the Premier League in 1999. Jack Walker passed away two years later and Blackburn managed to win promotion back to the Premier league, where they have remained ever since.

Over the years Blackburn Rover have one a few trophies, as summarised below;

Football League Champions three times 1911–12, 1913–14 1994-95

FA Cup Winners six times 1884, 1885, 1886, 1890, 1891, 1928

League Cup Winners 2002

Disclaimer: Victor Chandler, trading as BetVictor, is licensed by the Government of Gibraltar.

Scroll to top