You Are Here: Home » Premier League » Southampton FC

Southampton FC

Stadium: St. Mary’s Stadium
Capacity: 32,690
Manager: Nigel Adkins

Southampton F.C was founded in November of 1885 by members of the St. Mary’s Church of England Young Men’s Association. They were known as St Mary’s Y.M.A at the time. The name was later changed to St. Mary’s F.C in 1888 before adopting the name Southampton St. Mary’s. The club changed its name to this when it joined the Southern league in 1894. During the 1896-97 league title The Saints became champions, they also became a limited company; as well as changing their name, this time to Southampton F.C.

The success continued and the club won the Southern League Championship for three years between 1897 and 1899. They again won the league in 1901, 1903 and 1905. The club moved to a newly built stadium called The Dell in 1898, at the cost of £10,000.

Shortly after the First World War. The Saints joined the newly-formed Football League Division 3. The 1921–22 season ended in triumph with promotion and marked the beginning of a 31-year stay in Division 2.

The Saints were briefly forced to switch grounds to that of their local rivals Portsmouth F.C. at Fratton Park. This is because during the Second World War, a bomb landed on The Dell pitch in November 1940, this left an 8-foot crater which damaged an underground culvert and flooded the pitch.

The saints faced relegation in 1953, this sent them back to Division 3 (South). It took until 1960 for the Saints to regain Division 2 status. First Division football finally came in 1966 when the team were promoted as runners-up; this would be a never-to-be-forgotten achievement.

Southampton stayed among the elite for eight years, with the highest finishing position being seventh place in 1968–69 and again in 1970–71. These finishes were high enough for them to qualify for the Inter-Cities Fairs Cup in 1969–70 and the UEFA Cup in 1971–72. The luck ran out however when the club was relegated in 1974.

Nonetheless in 1976 the club reached the FA Cup Final, playing Manchester United at Wembley, they beat United 1–0 and gained there fist major honour. In 1977–78, the Saints finished runners-up in Division 2 and returned to Division 1.

Southampton were founding members of the Premier League in 1992–93, due to playing in the top flight of English football since 1978. Throughout the years the club faced steady success, there was no major silverware won, however Southampton found their selves year after year in a comfortable position within the Premier League.
The club moved to its current ground, St. Marys at the start of the 2001-2002 season. They left their former ground, The Dell with a 3-2 win against Arsenal, providing the perfect note to leave on.
It was not until 2005, 25 years after hey had initially joined the Premier League
that the club was to be relegated. During the time of relegation the club faced an array of new manages and potential buyers. As the years went on, the former glory of the club seemed to fade, in April 2009, Southampton were handed a 10 point deduction, following their parent company going into administration. Due to this deduction, Southampton were relegated from the Football League Championship to Leauge One for the first time in 50 years.

Success arrived in 2010 when the club won their first trophy since 1976 when they won the Football League Trophy, in a 4-1 win over Carlisle United. A year later the Saints were being promoted back to the championship. The club made positive impression on the Championship and were winning game after game, due to this impressive form, the club was promoted back to the top flight of English football in April 2012.

List of Achievements

FA Cup – Winners: 1976

Southampton Odds

Disclaimer: Victor Chandler, trading as BetVictor, is licensed by the Government of Gibraltar.

Scroll to top