You Are Here: Home » Premier League » Tottenham FCPage 2

Tottenham FC

Ground: White Hart Lane
Capacity: 36,310
Manager: André Villas-Boas

Tottenham Hotspur FC was formed by members of Hotspur cricket club and the local grammar school under the name of Hotspur F.C in the year 1882. It is rumoured the name Hotspur was originated from Sir Henry Percy, who was “Harry Hotspur” of Shakespeare’s Henry IV, part 1.

The club was then reorganised by John Ripsher in 1883, when the club was renamed Tottenham Hotspur FC so to avoid any confusion with previously established Hotspur FC. Navy blue became the clubs colours and the games were played on Tottenham marshes, it was these marshes where Spurs first played arch rivals Arsenal (Formally Woolwich Arsenal). The game was called off halfway through due to poor lighting, however Tottenham were leading at 2-1.

In 1885 Spurs had there first competitive match against St.Albans in the London Association Cup. Spurs won 5-2. It was in this year that the team colours changed to light blue and white shorts. During 1897 Tottenham reached there first cup final, loosing 0-2 to Wellingborough in the local Charity Cup Competition.
The club became a limited company in 1898 and once again changed is colours, this time to white shirts and blue shorts.

In 1898 the club moved from the marshes to Northumberland Park. However they only remained at the ground for a year, in April of 1899 14,000 fans showed up to watch Spurs play Woolwich Arsenal. Due to this the club moved to its present site, White Hart Lane. The first match in this new venue was a friendly against Notts County, where Spurs won 4-1 and took receipts of £115.

The club achieved its first major success in 1900, by becoming the Champions of the Southern League. The club received further success by winning the FA Challenge Cup, becoming the only non-league club since the formation of the football league in 1888 to do this. The club continued to impress with promotion to the First Division in 1909 and a second FA cup triumph in 1921.

Following the years after this Spurs began to see a decline, they were to face relegation and a lack of silverware. However after the war football began to become very popular which attracted a wide audience. Tottenham began to rise again; they were champions of the 1949-50 second division. By the next year, Tottenham had secured their first ever league title, becoming First Division Champions in 1951.

Within the following years the club faced a relative decline, in terms of injuries, competition from rival clubs and the sate of the stadium.

Nevertheless as the years went on the success continued to follow suite, some particular highlights include: becoming Football League Champions and winners of the FA Cup in 1961, the club became the first to complete the ‘Double’ since Preston North End and Aston Villa did so in 1889 and 1897. Spurs also won the Cup Winners’ Cup in 1963, becoming the first British club to win a major European competition. Spurs also added the League Cup in 1971 and 1973 to its list of achievements along with the UEFA Cup of 72. The early 80’s proved successful by attaining the FA Cup of 1980 and again in 1981. The club also won the UEFA Cup in 1984. Tottenham has continued to impress and have now become one of the most dominant English football clubs.

A summary of Tottenham Hotspur FC honours include:

Football League Champions 6 times in: 1900, 1904, 1920, 1950, 1951, 1961

FA Cup winners 8 times in: 1901, 1921, 1961, 1962, 1967, 1981, 1982, 1991

League Cup winners 4 times in: 1971, 1973, 1999, 2008

FA Charity Shield winners 7 times in: 1921, 1951, 1961, 1962, 1967, 1981, 1991

UEFA Cup winners twice in: 1972, 1984

UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup in: 1963

Anglo-Italian League Cup in: 1971

Tottenham Odds

Disclaimer: Victor Chandler, trading as BetVictor, is licensed by the Government of Gibraltar.

Scroll to top